In the Kitchen

Quick & Simple Chicken Salad

There’s no doubt – I love shopping. Yes, clothes, shoes, home decor (I sound so old), etc. are all things I love to find. However, I am happiest in a grocery store. So the other day I was even happier to find split chicken breasts on super sale at HEB.

There is just so much you can do with chicken! The beauty of the split bone-in breasts is that you can get so much more meat for your buck. With just one pack that cost me less than $2, I was able to make Filipino-style chicken noodle soup, the chicken salad for which this post is named, and chicken broth I can use for future recipes – all feeding a family of four + leftovers.

I sliced off the meatier top portions of each breast and boiled the pieces to use for this easy recipe. My mother and I used the smaller bone-in pieces leftover for soup.

Now, back to this quick and simple chicken salad!

Quick & Simple Chicken Salad

  • 2 chicken breasts, cooked & shredded
  • 1/2  cup nonfat plain yogurt (I used Greek yogurt)
  • 1/2  cup mayonnaise
  • 1/4  cup chopped almonds
  • 1/2  cup dried cranberries
  • 2 Tablespoons chives or green onions, chopped
  • Salt & pepper, to taste

In a bowl, combine the chicken, yogurt, mayo, almonds, cranberries, chives or onions, and salt & pepper. Combine until well blended. If it seems a little dry, add in more yogurt or mayo until it reaches your desired consistency.

You can serve this immediately, but I highly recommend chilling it in the fridge for at least an hour or even overnight to let all the flavors absorb together.

Notes/Observations

This would be great served on a croissant or any bread you like; we used whole wheat. You can also serve them in cucumber cups – take thick slices of cucumber and hollow it out a little with a melon baller – perfect for parties!

IMG_1406-001

As with any recipe, you can always add more or use less of different ingredients to your personal liking. I’m allergic to walnuts and cashews, so I used almonds, but you could use any kind of nut. If you don’t like cranberries, but are still looking for something a little sweet, substitute diced apples or halved grapes. To me, cooking’s all about trial & error, experimenting, and simply having fun learning what works and what doesn’t. Don’t be afraid!

Hope you try this out some time – it’d be great for lunch!

Leave a Reply

