In the Kitchen

“Don’t Need No Starbucks”: Iced, Cold-Brew Coffee

With only two seasons in Texas – hot and even hotter – I best like my beverages ice cold. Don’t get me wrong, I can enjoy a warm cup of coffee, tea or cocoa every now and then. I’m just weird and LOVE iced coffee.

And… I like it black. Is that weirder? I get some crazy looks from some baristas when I confirm that I want it black – no room for milk or sugar. To each their own, I guess.

I wouldn’t call myself an “avid” coffee drinker, but I do drink it often enough that I know those Starbucks/coffee shop runs can make quite a dent on that bank account. If you’re looking to save some cash or are just interested in experimenting with cold-brew coffee at home, it really couldn’t be easier!

I’ve had great experiences using a recipe from The Pioneer Woman (if you can’t tell from my other posts, I kinda love this woman) and more recently, a recipe from Chow shared below.

(Ridiculously) Easy Cold-Brewed Coffee

Makes 2 cups of coffee concentrate

4 1/2 oz. coarsely ground coffee (about 1 3/4 cups)

3 1/2 cups cold water


Only two ingredients are necessary to make this coffee concentrate…

IMG_5132

Water, meet coffee grounds.

IMG_5146

Place the coffee grounds at the bottom of a pitcher (or large bowl). Add water, and stir to combine.

IMG_5154

Cover with plastic wrap, and let it steep at room temperature for at least 12 hours or up to 1 day.

IMG_5164

Line a fine mesh strainer with a regular good ol’ coffee filter. Fit the strainer over a bowl or suitable container (I used another pitcher… makes pouring into a storage container easier later).

IMG_5165

Slowly pour the coffee into the filter until all the liquid has passed through the filter. You may have to work in batches. The liquid passes through in a small stream… Don’t force it through. It’ll take a few minutes and maybe some patience ;)

Stop when you reach the solids at the bottom of the pitcher. Don’t pour them into the filter. Discard the grounds and contents of the filter.

IMG_5175

Transfer the concentrate to a clean pitcher or container. I just use a mason jar. Chill in the refrigerator for at least 2 hours, and up to a week. I get about 5-6 servings out of this recipe.

Most recommend a 1-to-1 dilution ratio. For every cup of coffee concentrate, dilute with an equal portion of milk, half and half, or water. Everyone has different preferences, so I say dilute and sweeten to taste!

IMG_5170

Add some ice, and enjoy!

Notes

Roast: I typically use a medium or darker roast when making this recipe.

IMG_5158

For the last couple of batches, I’ve used this medium roast from Java Pura. I definitely taste some nutty and chocolate hints, which makes my usually-taken-black iced coffee a delightfully flavorful one.

I had the opportunity to sample Java Pura’s coffee and chat with an associate when they visited our local Central Market. Many of their coffees are organic and fair trade, and some are even direct trade like the roast pictured above.

Health Benefits: I’m no scientist, but it’s said that cold-brew coffee has less acidity and is better for the digestive system. It definitely doesn’t feel as acidic as traditional coffee when I drink it… and frankly, I can taste the coffee better when my tongue isn’t suffering from a minor burn! ;)

What’s with quote in the title? Just paying homage to one of my darling college roommates. She had the Ludacris rap from Justin Bieber’s (please don’t hate me, reader) “Baby” down pat. Love ya, Chels.

Leave a Reply

